top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Greenwood

Countdown to the Conclusion of The Temne Clinic Project

Providing support to the Monkey Bush Community Health Post, a Temne community, has been such a rewarding adventure. From the time I met my fellow Temnes in 2018 to now, I have always known that good things would come from our collaboration.


I have learned a lot about the resourcefulness, talent, and intellect of this community. And no one on earth has better manners! I am sometimes a bit ashamed that I am not as innately gracious as they are. But I'm learning!


This project will end two weeks from today, on June 30th. This will also conclude our relationship with our Fiscal Sponsor, the Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Gwinnet. We are appreciative of their willingness to provide their charity number so we could collect donations as a non-profit entity.


An average of 20 babies a month are born at this clinic. It is a great start to be able to provide a clean, safe place for Moms to give birth, but the clinic is in need of further support to meet code requirements that will allow the Ministry of Health and Sanitation to recognize and provide needed personnel, medications and medical supplies.


The generosity of our donors has truly touched our hearts. Whenever I thought raising X amount of money might work, I was pushed to the next level - several times! You all are the best!


I have gotten much better about making "the ask," which I will do right now. We only have $400 to go to meet our $3500 goal for this last campaign. If you haven't done so already, please hit that 'Donate' button and help this community out.


Stay tuned for our farewell Blog on June 30th!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving Along!

It is very important to me that I not take up too much of your time. As such, I only post when there is a significant development to report. The Ministry of Health and Sanitation (MoHS) is supportiv

First Podcast Interview!

On Wednesday, November 11, 2020, I had the pleasure of being interviewed by Angela Butler of Show Talk with Angela Butler. We talked about many things in the 40 minutes we had together: how the Temn

bottom of page