top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Greenwood

How this came to be

I no longer use the term "African American" to describe myself. I don't need to. I know who my people are. I have met them. I am them and they are me. We are the Temne people of Sierra Leone.


The Temnes comprise approximately 35% of the people of Sierra Leone. We are the largest ethnic group in the country and are highly represented among the Africans stolen from our shores so many years ago.


I received the warmest welcome ever from my people. I was touched. I was moved. And I was inspired. They asked for a little help and I am doing my best to ensure that the health clinic they so desperately need will be completed by the end of 2020.


That is where you come in. Watch the video. Learn the story of how this came to be. DONATE.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Countdown to the Conclusion of The Temne Clinic Project

Providing support to the Monkey Bush Community Health Post, a Temne community, has been such a rewarding adventure. From the time I met my fellow Temnes in 2018 to now, I have always known that good

Moving Along!

It is very important to me that I not take up too much of your time. As such, I only post when there is a significant development to report. The Ministry of Health and Sanitation (MoHS) is supportiv

bottom of page